Friday, February 18, 2011

BJP scores 3 on 3, trinamool wins in manipur


The BJP has won all the three seats it contested in the just held by elections, the results for which were announced on Thursday. BJP leader and Jharkhand chief minister Arjun Munda won the Kharwan assembly poll by 17,366 votes against his closest rival, Krishna Gagrai of the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajantarik), which was supported by the Congress. A Lok Sabha member from the Jamshedpur constituency, Munda will vacate the seat soon.
“It’s a victory of the masses,” the visibly relieved chief minister said.
The allies in the Jharkhand government, the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and the BJP, have 18 seats each in the 81 member assembly.
In Madhya Pradesh, the BJP wrested the Kukshi and Sonkutch assembly seats in Madhya Pradesh from the Congress.
This takes the BJP’s tally in the 231 member assembly to 146, and that of the Congress slips to 66.
In Kukshi, the BJP’s Mukam Singh Kirade won by 16,116 votes over his closest rival, Nisha Singhar of the Congress.
In Sonkutch, the BJP's Rajendra Verma trounced Congress's Arjun Verma by 18,953 votes.
In Manipur, a Trinamool Congress candidate was elected for the first time in the history of the state. The party's candidate, K Sarat, defeated his nearest rival and Congress contender, S Ranjan, by a margin of 655 votes in the by election to the Konthoujam assembly constituency in Manipur’s Imphal West district. Sarat got 9,592 votes and Ranjan 8,937.
The Congress, which is in power in the state, now has just 30 seats in the 60 member house. It is, however, supported by the CPI and the Nationalist Congress Party.



Post a Comment